General News

Wike revokes 165 plots of land in Abuja belonging to former governors, senators, ministers

165 pieces of land in the serviced Districts of the Federal Capital City have been revoked due to non-development, according to Minister of the Federal Capital Territory Barrister Nyesom Wike.

Muhammad Hazat Sule, the Federal Capital Territory Administration’s (FCTA) Director of Information and Communication, announced this.

The plots were revoked due to persistent violations of the provisions of the agreement as outlined in the 1978 Land Use Act, and the notification of the revocation as prepared by the Land Department was accepted by the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Barrister Nyesom Wike.

Individuals and business entities that have repeatedly broken the terms of the agreement outlined in Section 28(5)(a) and (b) of the Land use act are the owners of the revoked plots.

The one hundred and sixty-five (165) plots are located in the Central Business District, Maitama (A05), Maitama (A06), Wuse II (A08), Gudu (B01), and Wuye (B03), which are all FCC districts.

Others include the districts of Jabi (B04), Utako (B05), Katampe Extension (B19), Idu Industrial Area (C16), and Asokoro (A04), in that order.

Following the breach of the Rights of Occupancy, the Minister authorised the cancellation of the affected plots.

In light of this, “The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory has, in the exercise of the powers conferred upon him under Section 28(5)(a) & (b) of the Land Use Act 1978 revoked the affected titles for continued contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy to wit: non-development,” Sule said.

Former governors and senators Liyel Imoke and Joshua Dariye are among those who are impacted. Dariye served as governor of Plateau State while Imoke served as governor of Cross River State.

Former Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF), Kanu Agabi (SAN), is another top contender on the list.

The properties granted to now-deceased former public office holders have also been cancelled. These include the late Sam Nda-Isaiah, publisher of the Leadership daily, the late Ufot Joseph Ekaette, former secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), and late Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye.

Additionally, several businesses have lost their landed properties. These consist of, among others, Trade Bank, Wema Bank, Julius Berger, and Pearl & Diamond Properties Limited.

Upon taking office, FCT Minister Nyesom Wike warned that owners of underdeveloped sites and those who violated the city’s Land Use Act, would forfeit ownerships of such land.

The minister’s threat came to pass with yesterday’s declaration by FCT Permanent Secretary Olushade Adeshola.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button