General News

Senate confirms 3 additional INEC REC

The Senate ratified the appointment of three more Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Resident Electoral Commissioners on Thursday, increasing the total to ten.

Bumi Omoseyindem (Lagos), Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), and Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara) were confirmed.

Their confirmation follows the passage of a resolution at the Committee of the Whole by Senate Leader Opeyemi Bamidele (APC-Ekiti Central).

Bamidele, who introduced the motion, requested the Senate examine President Bola Tinubu’s appeal for confirmation of the appointment.

Prior to screening and confirmation, the Senate suspended Rule 12 and permitted nominees and their visitors access to the chamber.

Abdullahi Gumel, the senior special assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), led the nominees into the chamber.

Following that, candidates took turns giving highlights of their professional biographies and experiences before being confirmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button